Nordic Masterpieces

Enjoy four of the world's favorite nordic classics performed by Sweden's Norrköping Symphony Orchestra under the leadership of Ole Kristian Ruud. The CD includes 3 selections by Dane Carl Nielsen from his opera, “Maskerade”, Swede Hugo Alfven's suite “Bergakungen”, Norwegian Edvard Grieg's Lyric Suite Opus 54, and two short works by Finn Jean Sibelius, “Finlandia” Op.26 No.7 and “Valse Triste”. Recorded on the SIMAX label, this high quality recording of well-loved music from Scandinavia is sure to please classical music lovers.

Carl Nielsen: from “Maskerade”, opera
1. Ouverture
2. Prelude to Act 2
3. Dance of the Cockerels

Hugo Alfvén: Bergakungen/The Mountain King, suite
1. Besvärjelse/Invocation
2. Trollflickans dans/Sorceress' Dance
3. Sommarregn/Summer Rain
4. Vallflickans dans/Herdmaiden's Dance

Edvard Grieg: Lyric Suite, op.54
1. Gjetergutt (Andante espressive)
2. Gangar (Allegretto marcato
3. Notturno (Andante)
4. Trolltog (Allegro moderato)

Jean Sibelius:
1. Finlandia, op 26 no 7
2. Valse Triste, op 44 no 1

Special Price $15.00 Regular Price $21.95